Hayley Williams M.A.C. Cosmetics Collection Review

Hello everyone :’)

As many of you may know, Hayley Williams, singer with the amazing band Paramore launched a collection with M.A.C. Cosmetics, which you can view here,

http://www.maccosmetics.co.uk/whats_new/10925/New-Collections/Hayley-Williams/index.tmpl .

hayley-williams-mac-collection (1)

Source: Stealherstyle.net  

The collection is all based around the colour orange, a signature look for the singer and it features a nail polish, a mineralize skin finish, an eyeshadow and a lipstick. Being a huge fan of the band and being a big  fan of Hayley’s personal style I couldn’t wait to get my hands on some of the pieces. I chose to get the eyeshadow, lipstick and mineralize skin finish and after a few uses each I was ready to review them.

Orange Lipstick in “Sounds Like Noise”
 I have wanted a bright orange lipstick for quite a while now, however I’ve been quite conscious about which one to pick as I am very pale and did not want to pick a tone of orange which would look too garish next to my skin tone so when I heard Hayley’s collection included a lipstick I was excited to see what it was like as she is very fair skinned herself. This lipstick is described as “true orange” which it most definitely is but it still manages to flatter pale skin. The lipstick goes on easily and has quite a matte finish and it shows good lasting power. I also found that unlike some other statement lipsticks it gives a fabulous pop of colour to a make up look but I find that it is incredibly wearable and it can be paired with understated and bolder eyeshadow. I would highly recommend this lipstick for anyone looking to make a statement with their lips.

Lipstick with Flash

Lipstick with Flash

Lipstick without Flash

Lipstick without Flash

Eyeshadow in “Daydreaming”
The second item I bought was the eyeshadow in “Daydreaming”. Although I’ve never been afraid of wearing strongly coloured eyeshadow I know that some people would be turned off by the idea of an orange eyeshadow, however “Daydreaming” is a lovely coral orange with a lovely pearl finish, making it extremely wearable. After some experimentation I find that the eyeshadow can be worn on its own with liquid eyeliner, such as Hayley’s M.A.C. look above or with a wash of colour on the lid or by putting a brown into the crease for a more subtle look. Another look is to wear a shimmery eyeshadow such as a white or a silver like Hayley did at the MTV Movie Awards, as seen below, this this keeps the impact of the colour but adds a softer edge to the look. As with all M.A.C. eyeshadows it is very pigmented and it is a great choice for those who like unusual colours or for those who would like to make a statement while maintaining a nice subtlety.

IMG_0159    Source: Jamspreader.com

 

 

 

 

Mineralize Skin Finish in “Lightscapade”
I had always wanted a M.A.C. Mineralize Skin Finish and my mother actually has some but I feel that although some make lovely blushers other shades are too dark for my skin tone as I am very fair skin and I really don’t look good with too much bronze on but this skin finish is a gorgeous “candlelit beige” and the veining in the product appears silver, gold and even some light baby pink. I applied this product on the tops of my cheeks and other areas on my face as a highlight and I loved the finished look, it provided a lovely glow, yet still looked more natural than other liquid and powder highlighters I have used. Although this product works amazingly well for pale skin it could also make a lovely highlighter for any skintone. Overall, I really love this collection and I feel that it works well for those who love statement make up and those who prefer a more subtle look. All of the pieces are of great quality, show good lasting power and with these colours it is easy to create a multitude of looks. I’m including some swatches of the products and also some pictures of me wearing the products.

IMG_4115IMG_4134

IMG_0169

So, that’s it for this review, please let me know if you enjoyed it. Don’t hesitate to send me requests and comments. I’ll leave you with Paramore’s new single “Still Into You”. Until next time,

Róisín

Leave a Reply

