Dainty Doll Make-Up Review

IMG_0190

Hello Everyone : D

So I am back with another review. I recently purchased quite a lot of Dainty Doll make-up from  For those of you who aren’t aware Dainty Doll is the make-up brand of Girls Aloud singer Nicola Roberts and it is aimed particularly at pale girls, you can view the site here for a full list of products and stockists. As a pale girl I’ve wanted to try some of this range ever since I first heard about it, for anyone  interested in trying something out I’ll be reviewing some of the range, particularly the blushers and lipsticks.

Mineral Powder, Eyebase and Concealer
I think with a make-up range aimed at the fair-skinned the products for your complexion should be a true teller of if the make-up is truly suited to the paler girls. I find that as I am incredibly pale most make-up brands don’t actually make a foundation that makes my skin tone and a lot of commercial concealers actually appear yellow under my eyes in comparison to my foundation.

The Mineral Powder in Shade 001 “Now That I’ve Found You” is a lovely matte powder and is definitely the palest powder I have seen and it went on perfectly over my own foundation and gave me the matte finish that I like. I have seen this product being described as a mineral foundation, I personally wouldn’t use it for this purpose but I would recommend it for those that would like some nice, light coverage without a dewy finish. I tend to prefer products that I can use my own make-up brushes for but that being said the fibres in the brush don’t irritate my skin and I found that I was still able to achieve builable coverage.

IMG_0198

The concealer, like the powder is as pale as described and does not provide me with the yellowish tinge under my eyes. The concealer can be applied with a brush or fingers and it has quite a thick consistency so you do need to work quickly with it otherwise you will have to tug on your skin to spread it out evenly but it does cover discoloration which is great as I have quite dark circles under my eyes.

IMG_0193

 As for the eyebase in 001 “Frankie Girl”, I still use my other eye primers like Urban Decay’s Primer Potion for all  of my heavy duty make-up and when I know I  need a look that will last for hours. This eye primer, like the concealer is quite a thick formulation, that being said After putting it on my eye I find that eyeshadows do stick to it very well and  the base’s off-white tone does mean that all of my shadows came up bright and very true to colour on my eyes which was a huge plus.

IMG_0199                                               IMG_0201

Lipsticks 
I was incredibly excited to try all of the lipsticks as I am a  big fan of statement lips and I feel that no make-up look is completely without a lip product of some sort. Just to give a quick introduction, I got six lipsticks,
“Stripped” is a warm but still quite sheer golden honey kind of colour with some gold sparkle in it.
“In His Kiss” is a soft crystal pink colour, once again it goes on quite sheer.
“Baby Love” is a bit more opaque than the other two and is quite a peachy pink colour with a high shine.
“Storm in a Teacup”  a lovely brown based nude colour. It is a glossy opaque.
“Couture” is a beautiful, rich red. It  is quite berry based and does come out quite dark, more so than a normal deep red.
“Saucy Sailor” a lovely, bright cherry red.

I think that the lipsticks are all lovely colours. The lipstick go on easily, they do not have a drying formula and they do last quite a while. I am not the biggest fan of sheer lipsticks, however with a lipliner and precise application I think the first three lipsticks are lovely and a nice accompaniment for dramatic eyes or more subtle, everyday looks. I adore these two reds and since red is my go-to lipstick colour of choice these will definitely be joining the ranks with my other favourites. “Storm in a Teacup” is beautiful and I like it as it is a nude colour that doesn’t wash me out and doesn’t look out of place with my skintone, it is actually quite similar to “Vanilla Truffle” by Esteé Lauder which is one of my favourite nudes in general.

IMG_0204

Stripped

Stripped

Baby Love

Baby Love

In His Kiss

In His Kiss

Storm In a Teacup

Storm In a Teacup

Couture (without flash)

Couture (without flash)

Saucy Sailor

Saucy Sailor

Blushers

I got  three of the blushes in the collection, “My Girl”, “You are my Sunshine” and “Hippie Shakes.”

“My Girl” a lovely baby pink colour.
“You are my sunshine” a nice peachy-pink shade that has some gold shimmer in it.
“Hippie Shakes” a striking pale lilac colour blush.

The three of these blushes are beautiful. They are very powdery and swirling my blusher brush on these creates a lot of powder, a light hand goes a long way with these products. The colours are amazing and they have incredible  colour payoff, where other blushes fail to make any impact over my pressed powder these blushes give a bold and highly pigmented result.

IMG_0221                                          IMG_0225

IMG_0222                IMG_0223                 IMG_0224


Overall, I think Dainty Doll is a really good make-up brand and there products are worth investing in for pale-skinned girls but the products like their lipsticks and blushers would be worth a look regardless of you skintone.

That’s all for now, please comment, share and like this post 🙂

Róisín

Leave a Reply

